Day 365 – Stuffed BBQ Cupcakes

31 Jul

It’s the last day.  Last cupcake.  (Let’s just skim right over the fact that this means I’ve eaten about 365 cupcakes, please.)  And this momentous occasion requires a special cupcake.  Something like I’ve never tried before.  Well, after 364 cupcakes, I thought it would be hard to find something insanely unique.  Until my friend, Christy sent me these Stuffed BBQ Cupcakes (recipe below from Snappy Gourmet).  I’ve never seen (or tasted) anything like them.  Perfect for day 365!

Stuffed-Cupcake     Mini-Stuffed-Cupcake

The cupcakes are dense and crumbly. They look a lot like corn bread muffins. They have a slight cornbread flavor, but the meatiness from the pork filling really permeates the flavor of the cake. It’s almost smoky.

Pimento-Cheese-Frosting

The frosting is really thick. It has chunks of pimento in it, so don’t attempt to do any fancy frosting. Just simple round tip or spread it on. It has a strong cream cheese/other cheeses flavor. Very creamy. Strong spice flavors, but no one sticks out.

Stuffed-BBQ-Cupcake     Mini-Stuffed-BBQ-Cupcake

This is a cupcake for the BBQ lovers. For sure! It’s just fun. It’s meaty. It’s cheesy. The flavors work really well together. The bbq sauce, the spices, the cheese, the meat and the corn bread. I mean, they’re all involved in any good BBQ. This just puts it all in one bite. It’s surprisingly easy to eat. You look at the ingredients and think it’ll be messy. But as long as your pork doesn’t have too much sauce on it, you’re good to go. Together, it’s like a complete thought, where the pieces were just parts. It all adds up.

Stuffed-BBQ-halved

Scoring Sheet:

  • Cupcake Taste: 3.5
  • Frosting Taste: 3.5
  • Overall Taste: 4
  • Appearance: 4
  • Ease of Making: 4
  • TOTAL: 19

Stuffed-BBQ-top

RECIPE

Stuffed BBQ Cupcakes (recipe from Snappy Gourmet)

  • 1¼ cups all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup corn meal
  • ¼ cup granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¾ cup milk
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted & cooled
  • ½ cup precooked BBQ pulled pork (with or without BBQ sauce)
Pimento Cheese Frosting:
  • 4 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cup shredded Monterrey Jack cheese
  • 1 cup shredded smoked cheddar cheese
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • dash onion powder
  • dash garlic powder
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 3 tablespoons pimentos, drained
Garnish (optional):
  • BBQ sauce

For directions visit Snappy Gourmet.

 

2 Responses to “Day 365 – Stuffed BBQ Cupcakes”

  1. Christy July 31, 2014 at 10:40 am #

    First of all, I just want to say CONGRATULATIONS, Leslie!!! You did it! Holy cupcakes, you DID IT!! As a fellow baker, I am incredibly impressed and tired just thinking about what you accomplished. I read about every single cupcake, but I can hardly believe it has already been a year. Thanks for the daily entertainment, and NO thanks for making me crave cake every day. 😉 One question though…I wasn’t the “Christy” who sent you these BBQ cupcakes was I? I have no memory of it, but it does indeed sound like something I would do! Yea for me if I did!

    • My Year of Cupcakes July 31, 2014 at 11:30 pm #

      Haha! Thanks! And yes, you did send them to me. On Pinterest…months ago…

Leave a Reply

