Day 303 – Insanely Moist and Decadent Chocolate Cupcakes

30 May

Today is my dad’s birthday!!

mom-and-dad-pic

That’s my parents.  Aren’t they cute?!  And, just because I’ve tortured other family members with oldies-but-goodies…

2346_1097332505955_1519_n

(In order, that’s my dad, me and my sister…yup….I’m the chubby one…)

me-and-dad-pic

This one’s just because I love it soooo much!

Now, I must confess, I get my sweet tooth from my dad.  Hands down.  My love of chocolate.  Also from my dad.  No doubt about it. My mom is a lemon dessert fan, my dad is a chocolate dessert fan.  (Yes.  That means that every time I bake for them, there must be 2 kinds of dessert.)  So, when I was picking out his birthday cupcake this year, I knew it had to be something chocolatey. But chocolate without complications.  And these Insanely Moist and Decadent Chocolate Cupcakes (recipe below from Dishing the Divine) were calling my name!  Or…well…his name, more accurately.

Chocolate-Cupcake     Mini-Chocolate-Cupcake

The cupcakes are indeed moist and very delicate. They have a light, sweet chocolate taste. Not dark at all. Almost milk chocolate. But so delicate and smooth, you almost forget it’s cake.

Chocolate-Frosting

The frosting is thick and smooth. It’s almost like a really thick pudding or mousse in consistency. It has a nice chocolate flavor as well. Definitely darker than the cupcake, but not super dark or bitter.

MD-Chocolate-Cupcake     Mini-MD-Chocolate

The frosting definitely takes a front seat to the cake, so there’s no need to overfrost. But this is a smooth, creamy and surprisingly delicate chocolatey cupcake. I like the 2 different types of chocolate. They work nicely together. It’s not overstated or complicated. Just a simple, good chocolate cupcake.

MD-Chocolate-top

Scoring Sheet:

  • Cupcake Taste: 4.5
  • Frosting Taste: 4
  • Overall Taste: 4
  • Appearance: 3.5
  • Ease of Making: 4
  • TOTAL: 20

Mini-MD-Chocolate-top

RECIPE

Insanely Moist and Decadent Chocolate Cupcakes (recipe from Dishing the Divine)

Chocolate Cupcakes:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 oz unsweetened chocolate, cut into 1/4-inch pieces
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 8 tbsp (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Chocolate Fudge Frosting:

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup light corn syrup
  • 12 oz bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, melted
  • 6 tbsp unsalted butter, very soft
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

For directions visit Dishing the Divine.

*Tomorrow: Gluten-free Lemon Cupcakes*

 

3 Responses to “Day 303 – Insanely Moist and Decadent Chocolate Cupcakes”

  1. sarahgiebens May 30, 2014 at 10:35 am #

    Happy Birthday to your Dad! The cupcakes look like a perfect birthday cupcake ^^

  2. alifemoment May 30, 2014 at 5:01 pm #

    These cupcakes look really yummy! Well done! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Winner #40 | my year of cupcakes - May 30, 2014

    […] Insanely Moist & Decadent Cupcakes from Dishing the Divine.  Check out that yummy day here.  And check back tomorrow to see how it does in our Monthly Competition against these […]

Leave a Reply

