Day 290 – Shirley Temple Cupcakes

17 May

Today is my niece, Halia’s, 2nd birthday!

Halia

So, I wanted to do something very bright and happy for this bright and happy little girl!  These Shirley Temple Cupcakes (recipe below from Katie at the Kitchen Door) seem happy enough!

Cherry-Cupcake     Mini-Cherry-Cupcake

The cupcakes are really squishy and a little greasy. They have a pretty pink color to them. The flavor is a little on the odd side. I get the cherry because I know it’s there. I’m not sure I would know what the flavor was if I hadn’t made them, but then there’s a weird doughy aftertaste that I can’t quite pinpoint. Perhaps a little almond extract would balance it out a little – and almond is always a nice addition to cherry.

Lemon-Lime-Frosting

The frosting is smooth and creamy. Very soft. It has a nice light, sweet cream cheese flavor with just a little lemon-lime flavor.

Shirley-Temple-Cupcake     Mini-Shirley-Temple-Cupcake

The balance of sweetness is nice between the cupcake and the frosting. But the frosting doesn’t end up being strong enough to counter that weird aftertaste in the cupcake. It just throws the whole balance off. I’m not exactly sure what’s causing it, but I wish I knew so I could change it next time. I love Shirley Temples, so I really wanted this to be just like the drink.

Shirley-Temple-top

Scoring Sheet:

  • Cupcake Taste: 3
  • Frosting Taste: 4
  • Overall Taste: 3
  • Appearance: 4
  • Ease of Making: 4.5
  • TOTAL: 18.5

Mini-Shirley-Temple-top

RECIPE

Shirley Temple Cupcakes (recipe from Katie at the Kitchen Door)

Lemon-lime Cherry Cupcakes:

  • 1/2 c. lemon-lime soda
  • 1/2 c. grenadine
  • 1 tsp vinegar (cider, white wine, or white will all work)
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 1/3 c. canola oil
  • 1 1/3 c. flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Lemon-lime Frosting:

  • 4 oz. neufchatel cheese, room temperature
  • 3 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp lime juice
  • 3 c. powdered sugar
  • 15 maraschino cherries with stems

For directions visit Katie at the Kitchen Door.

*Tomorrow: Vanilla Cupcakes*

Leave a Reply

