Day 157 – Chocolate Chip & Mascarpone Cupcakes

4 Jan

Ok, I have a tale for you.  Regarding a word in these cupcakes.  (That sounds weird, I know.)  Chocolate Chip & Mascarpone Cupcakes (recipe below from Food Network)

But the word “mascarpone” brings with it a lot of drama within my family.  (Sounds weirder, I know.)  We are not an Italian family.  But, we are a food family.  Particularly my dad, my hubby and me.  So, we often get into arguments discussions over food things.  “Mascarpone” is one of them.  And here’s why:

My dad pronounces it “mar-sca-pone”.  Now, I say this is all kinds of wrong.  The ‘r’ isn’t even in the right place!

I pronounce it “mah-scar-po-nay”.  (Which, I might add, is how Giada De Laurentiis says it, so I’m pretty sure I’m right.)  My dad and hubby laugh at me every time cause it’s the only word I pronounce in a title with that kind of flair.

So, now I ask, how do you say it?  My way?  My dad’s way?  Or do you have a whole different variation??  Comment below and let us know!

Ok.  I’m done now.  Enjoy the cupcakes…

Chocolate-Cupcake     Mini-Cupcake

The cupcakes are very cakey and crumbly. Almost dry, but not quite.  They have a nice, smooth chocolate flavor.

Ganache-side     Chocolate-Ganache

(It’s really hard to get a good picture of the shiny ganache!)

The ganache is smooth and creamy.  It has a nice, semisweet chocolate flavor.

CC-M-Cupcake     Mini-CC-M-Cupcake

These are very nice. Especially for the chocolate lover. Very smooth and even. Rich, but you don’t NEED a glass of milk. And not too dark.

Note: The minis have a little crunch to the top. They’re quite tasty.

Scoring Sheet:

  • Cupcake Taste: 4
  • Frosting Taste: 4
  • Overall Taste: 4
  • Appearance: 3
  • Ease of Making: 4
  • TOTAL: 19

RECIPE

Chocolate Chip & Mascarpone Cupcakes (recipe from Food Network)

Cupcakes:

  • 5 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/3 cup mascarpone cheese, at room temperature
  • 2 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup (6 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips

Ganache:

  • 1 cup (6 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips
  • 2/3 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

For directions visit Food Network.

*Tomorrow: Dark Chocolate Salted Caramel Cupcakes*

8 Responses to “Day 157 – Chocolate Chip & Mascarpone Cupcakes”

  1. lauriepieper January 4, 2014 at 11:51 am #

    Totally with you, Leslie. Your dad is wrong – again!!

  2. Carol January 4, 2014 at 9:50 pm #

    You are probably right but I say it like you Dad.

  3. Veronica January 4, 2014 at 11:50 pm #

    Yeah. I say it like your Dad but after reading this post, very much think I am wrong.

  4. tastytreats13 January 7, 2014 at 8:34 pm #

    I say it like you do. The cupcakes look lovely!

Leave a Reply

