Day 156 – Delicious Pumpkin Cupcakes

3 Jan

So, yeah.  I know.  Thanksgiving and Christmas are over.  But does that mean I can’t still enjoy a pumpkin dessert now and then?  I hope not. And to prove it, I decided on these Delicious Pumpkin Cupcakes with Honey Cream Cheese Frosting (recipe below from LaLa Cake).

Pumpkin-Cupcake     Mini-Pumpkin

The cupcakes are very squishy and very moist. They’re somewhat dense, but not thick.  The have a strong pumpkin flavor, with a nice balance of spicy and sweet.

Honey-Cream-Cheese-Frosting

The frosting is silky smooth and creamy.  It tastes so interesting. It’s a cream cheese frosting first, but then you get that bit of honey. So different, and unexpected from a cream cheese frosting.

Frosted-Pumpkin-Cupcake     Mini-frosted-Pumpkin

I’m not quite sure how to feel about these. The first bite, I thought it was really tasty together. But the more I ate, the less certain I was about the honey and the pumpkin. They’re such strong, unique flavors, I’m just not sure how I feel about them together. I think next time I’d add slightly less honey, and see if that helps, cause I love the cream cheese frosting with it!

Note: The minis taste almost identical to the full-sized.

Pumpkin-halved

Scoring Sheet:

  • Cupcake Taste: 4
  • Frosting Taste: 3.5
  • Overall Taste: 3.5
  • Appearance: 3.5
  • Ease of Making: 4
  • TOTAL: 18.5

RECIPE

Delicious Pumpkin Cupcakes with Honey Cream Cheese Frosting (recipe from LaLa Cake)

Cupcakes:

  • 1 1/4 cup Sifted Cake Flour
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/2 Garam Masala (can also use All-spice)
  • 1/4 tsp Ground Cloves
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 2 Eggs
  • 3/4 cups Light Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 cup Oil
  • 1 cup Canned Unsweetened Pumpkin Puree

Frosting:

  • 8 oz Softened Cream Cheese
  • 1/2 cup Powdered Sugar
  • 1/4 cup Honey
  • 10 tbsp Softened Butter
  • 1 tbsp Vanilla Extract

For directions visit LaLa Cake.

*Tomorrow: Chocolate Chip & Mascarpone Cupcakes*

2 Responses to “Day 156 – Delicious Pumpkin Cupcakes”

  1. CakePants January 11, 2014 at 8:38 pm #

    I am definitely a fan of continuing to make pumpkin-based recipes after the holidays have passed. The frosting recipe sounds intriguing! I’ll have to try it sometime.

Leave a Reply

