Liebster Award

18 Nov

As you might have guessed by now, I started this project in August because I’m a little nuts I love cupcakes.  I love baking period…obviously.  Pretty much all food.  Big fan.

Well, today I got a wonderful compliment from a fellow blogger!  Alexandra from Sweaterchef nominated me for the Liebster Award.  Thanks, Alexandra!!

liebster-award

I was super excited about this, even though I wasn’t quite sure what it meant.  So, I did a little research.  This is the description I found about The Liebster Award from We Loved Here.

The Liebster Award is given to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers. So, what is a Liebster?  The meaning: Liebster is German and means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome. Isn’t that sweet? Blogging is about building a community and it’s a great way to connect with other bloggers and help spread the word about newer bloggers/blogs.

Pretty cool, huh?  Bloggers supporting other bloggers.  I can totally get in with that!  So here we go:

Rules:
– Link to the person who nominated you
– Answer their questions
– Nominate new blogs for the award
– Ask them 10 new questions
– Let the nominees know they have been nominated

My Answers:

What inspired you to create a blog?

I was constantly looking at blogs, food websites and food magazines for new recipes.  My husband suggested that I start a blog.  That way I could write about my experiences in the kitchen, what I like about recipes and what I might change.

Has it been a passion of yours for a long time?

I have 2 aunts (one on each side) who love to bake and inspired me from a very young age, but I didn’t start baking myself until high school. (So, yes.  A long time.)

Are you doing what you love for work?

Almost.  I bake every day.  As well as write.  But, most of all, I write music and play guitar.  I just don’t consider those “work”.

Have you ever visited another country?  Where?

I’ve been extremely lucky in travel.  I’ve been to Germany (two times), Australia, Sweden, Estonia, Russia, Finland, Denmark, Portugal, Bermuda, France, Monaco, Italy, Greece, Croatia, Spain, Mexico and Canada. 

What is your best skill?

My best skill is probably music.  I’ve been studying since I was very, very young.

Do you have a mentor?

Not in my professional life, but the person that I looked up to most would be my grandmother, who spent most of her life paving the way for women, so we could be whatever we want to be.

What is your favorite food?

Chinese food.  Totally addicted.  (Surprisingly, not dessert, I know.)  Though chocolate and/or sour candy definitely come in at a close 2nd.

How about your favorite holiday?

Christmas.  So many good memories.  From family to friends to just being at home with my hubby. 

What was your best subject?

Music was always my best, but I was also pretty good at math.

How many languages do you speak? Which one/s?

I only speak English fluently.  I speak a little Spanish (from my time living in Miami) and I am currently working on learning French.

My Nominations:

I Sing in the Kitchen

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Snacking in the Kitchen

Daisy Bites

thenotsocreativecook

Questions:

What made you want to start your blog?

Who is your hero?

What city, country or continent have you always wanted to visit?

When you were a kid, what did you dream of being when you grew up?

What, in your opinion, is your strongest skill or ability?

What is your favorite book?  Why?

What inspires you?

What is your favorite comfort food?

Do you have a favorite season of the year?  If so, which one?

Who is your favorite band or singer?

7 Responses to “Liebster Award”

  1. tastytreats13 November 18, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

    Congratulations! 😀 How cool!

  2. lauriepieper November 18, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

    WOW! What a nice Award!!! Congratulations!!

  3. Nancy Marty November 18, 2013 at 10:44 pm #

    What fun, Leslie, to hear about your recognition and also to read your responses to the questions. Congrats!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Liebster Award 1-2-3 | thenotsocreativecook - November 20, 2013

    […] The last nomination was on 11/19 by My Year of Cupcakes and here are my answers to the given […]

Leave a Reply

