Day 99 – Chamomile Lemon Cupcakes with Honey Buttercream Frosting

7 Nov

Today is my mom’s birthday!!!

Me and Mom

That’s her reading to me (long, long ago – and I’m sure she’ll be thrilled that I posted one with that hair…).  This one is more recent.  From this past weekend, in fact.  A little pre-birthday visit.  She was enjoying a cupcake…and the dog wanted to join her.

Mom and Aleshanee

My mom is one of my very favorite people.  In the world.  And, she loves tea.  Especially tea with lemon and honey.  So I couldn’t possibly resist making these Chamomile Lemon Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting (recipe below from Food52) for her birthday!  Hope she likes ’em.  And, the book today I picked out especially for her: The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum.  Or…well…more like she picked it out for me.  She bought it for me when I was fortunate enough to play Dorothy a few years ago.

Enjoy today’s tip and the “Happy Birthday” Cupcakes!

Now, to the cupcakes.

Chamomile-Cupcake     Mini-Chamomile

The cakes have a bit of a muffin texture, but they also have a nice crunch on the top.  The lemon is surprisingly present. Not aggressive, I just wasn’t expecting to taste it at all. But it complements the tea really well. It’s all very subtle and understated.

Honey-Buttercream

The frosting is very smooth. It very much looks and feels like frosting made with shortening. The honey really smooths it out and makes it creamy.  Honey butter. Literally the only way to describe it. Doesn’t feel or taste like frosting. Very much like honey butter.

Cupcake-with-frosting     Mini-Cupcake-with-frosting

It reminds me a lot of eating a buttered scone. This is a cupcake for people who are a fan of breakfast sweets. It’s a very nice balance, I just don’t feel like I’m eating a cupcake. Full. On. Scone with lemon butter. Now I can totally justify this for my breakfast!

Notes: The batter isn’t very pretty when it goes in to the oven – it has an almost green look to it – but when it comes out it’s much prettier! They also smell a little like pancakes while they’re baking, which in NOT a bad thing. The minis are a nice interpretation – very accurate to the flavors and feel of the full-size.

Scoring Sheet:

  • Cupcake Taste: 3.5
  • Frosting Taste: 4
  • Overall Taste: 4
  • Appearance: 3
  • Ease of Making: 3.5 (Not difficult at all! Just a little time-consuming to mix lemon/sugar as well as melt butter and then let them rest for 30 mins.)
  • TOTAL: 18

RECIPE

Chamomile Lemon Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting (recipe from Food52)

Chamomile Lemon Cupcakes

  • 3/4 cups white sugar
  • 1 lemon’s zest
  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup chamomile tea leaves
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup white sugar

Honey Buttercream Frosting

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 1/2 cup honey

For directions visit Food52.

*Tomorrow: German Chocolate Cupcakes*

2 Responses to “Day 99 – Chamomile Lemon Cupcakes with Honey Buttercream Frosting”

  1. lauriepieper November 7, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    Thank you, Leslie, for making these and for the great tip! You are an amazing baker and I am so proud to be your mom. I love you!

Leave a Reply

