Lucky dog!

1 Oct

I was literally one of the luckiest people ever yesterday.  I got to hang out with not 1, not 2, not 3, but 4 puppies!!  They ate doggy cupcakes.  We took lots of pictures.  It was amazing.

Now, in case you don’t know, October is Adopt-A-Shelter-Dog Month.  And, this year I wanted to do something special (and apparently insanely fun) to raise awareness for shelters and shelter dogs.  Yesterday, my hubby and I went to Bideawee, a NY-based animal shelter, and spent some time with these 4 pups (below), who are all currently available for adoption: Lucky, Sonny, Calvin and Tony Soprano.  They feasted on some doggy cupcakes, which I will definitely be sharing with you in the coming days.  I’ll also be posting loads and loads of photos!!  So, keep an eye out for those, check out the photos below, AND check out Bideawee!!  They are an amazing shelter full of amazing animal friends (and the humans are pretty cool too…)!

3-sniffing LJ-poster-TS LJ-w-2-minis

(Seriously.  I wanted to keep all of them…)

B1-alone Calvin-alone B2-alone

Do you have a dog that you adopted?!  Wanna share your story?  I’d love to hear it!!  (And photos, if you want.  I love those!!)  I’ll also be sharing photos and videos of my adopted dog, Aleshanee, in the next couple of weeks as well.  She was my taste-tester for all the doggy cupcakes.  Lucky dog!

4 Responses to “Lucky dog!”

  1. Stephanie October 2, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    I adopted my adorable hound mix puppy earlier this year from the SPCA! Her name is Daisy, and my blog (Daisy Bites), which I started a couple months after I adopted her, is named after her because I love her so much!

    • My Year of Cupcakes October 2, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

      I love it!!! Thanks for sharing! I just checked it out. She is absolutely adorable! That face!!!!

  2. Kathy October 7, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

    I first spotted George curled up in a tight little ball sleeping. I was told by the animal rescue volunteer that he and his littermate were picked up along railroad tracks down South and that they had rescued him from the kill shelter he was originally taken to. George is a beautiful dog but it was his gentle and mellow personality that I first fell in love with. I took him home and set up his dog bed at the foot of our bed. Sometime during the middle of that first night I woke up face-to-face with George who was standing with his front paws on my bed and stretching his neck to reach me. He licked my cheek then jumped back down and returned to his bed. I took him to his first vet appointment a few days later and he was given antibiotics for kennel cough. The antibiotics worked and that gentle mellow George turned into the craziest, funniest, most energetic dog I have ever known! And, I wouldn’t want it any other way. His life began on the railroad tracks somewhere far away but he ended up with me and we spoil each other everyday.

Leave a Reply

