Monthly Competition #2

30 Sep

Another month down.  Unbelievable!  There have been soooo many good cupcakes…sooooo many that I can’t wait to try again.  But, alas, we had to narrow it down to the 4 Weekly Winners for the Monthly Competition.  Check out the competitors, then enjoy the competition video to find out which cupcake is the Monthly Champ for September!

Week 5 – Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

Snickerdoodle Cupcake

Week 6 – Chocolate Coconut Cupcakes

Chocolate Coconut Cupcake

Week 7 – S’mores Cupcakes

Smores-Cupcake

Week 8 – Chocolate Oreo Cupcakes

Oreo-Cupcakes

Thanks again to my September Cupcake Panel: Raven Wadzeck, Ian Richardson and Megan Griffey (from Frittering Away) – and, of course, to my husband, Ken, for all filming and music!

Frittering Away’s Superior Toddy Recipe

2oz Rye

4oz Frittering Away Ginger Lemonade

Cinnamon Stick

Directions:

Warm a handled glass.  Heat Lemonade until just simmering.  Pour shot of Rye in glass and add warmed Lemonade.  Garnish with cinnamon stick and enjoy!

(Rye adds a wonderful spicy note but Irish Whiskey, Scotch and Bourbon work also.)

You can find out more about Frittering Away, as well as their stand at Smorgasburg & their special events boozy lemonade packages at www.fritteringaway.com.

Check back tomorrow when I begin October’s Cupcakes!

4 Responses to “Monthly Competition #2”

  1. Stephanie October 2, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    Also, I know I just posted, but I love your blog! I admire your ability to bake cupcakes EVERYDAY! I wish I had the time and energy to do that! My goal is once a week, and I find that challenging enough! And you have so many different components to your blog (like Tip Thursday!), I just love it. It’s a daily read for me now and breaks up an otherwise cupcake-free workday (though I did bring cupcakes to work on Monday…).

    Anyway, I love all the recipes and reviews, especially because I am constantly searching Pinterest and blogs for new recipes and it is always so hard to judge if something will turn out as delicious as you hope!

    And lastly, I am very glad the s’mores cupcakes won, because I told myself I was going to make the monthly winner this weekend, but I really wanted to make the smores cupcakes and didn’t think I would be patient enough to wait until next weekend, so easy decision for me! …ok…back to work now…

    • My Year of Cupcakes October 2, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

      Oh my gosh! Thank you so much!!! Yes. It is a lot of time. Sometimes I can’t believe I really do it either!

      I’m so glad you’re making the monthly winners! My friend, Sarah, is doing the exact same thing. (She was also thrilled that the S’mores won.) You’ll have to let me know if you love them as much as we did!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 62 – Apple Cinnamon Cupcakes | my year of cupcakes - October 1, 2013

    […] is here!!  The second Monthly Champ has been chosen (check it out here if you missed it). We are 62 days into this 365 day tour of cupcakes! […]

  2. Day 66 – Snickerdoodle Cupcakes | my year of cupcakes - October 5, 2013

    […] you know that I’ve added the Frittering Away recipe for the Superior Toddy.  Check out the Monthly Competition for that!  And, if you’re in the NYC area, check out the Frittering Away booth at […]

Leave a Reply

