Day 46 – S’mores Cupcakes

15 Sep

Yes.  Another S’mores Cupcake (recipe below from Your Cup of Cake).  And, I can guarantee, this won’t be the last.  There are so many S’mores recipes.  And, lucky for us, there are so very many days left…

Chocolate-Cupcake     Mini-Chocolate-Cupcake

The cakes have a good density and moistness.  Nice chocolate taste.  Not too dark or rich.   The graham cracker at the bottom is really crumbly when you eat it.  Not a bad thing, just an FYI really.

Marshmallow-Filling     Filled-Cupcake     Filled-Mini-Cupcake

The filling is between a glaze and a buttercream.  It’s more cream cheese than marshmallow, but it’s not overly sweet either.

Graham-Cracker-frosting

This frosting is good and thick, almost like cookie dough.  It’s not overly sweet.  The graham cracker cuts the sugar a lot.  (Note: Make sure you really grind the graham crackers.  I had a few chunks left which made it a little hard to pipe.)

Smores-Cupcake     Mini-Smores-Cupcake

The balance is yummy!!  All 3 parts are super tasty, though not 100% like a S’more.  It’s kinda like an adult S’more – more flavor & less sugary.

Scoring Sheet:

– Cupcake Taste: 3.5

– Frosting Taste: 4.5

– Overall Taste: 4.5

– Appearance: 4.5

– Ease of Making: 3.5

– TOTAL: 20.5

RECIPE (recipe from Your Cup of Cake)

Chocolate Cakes:
1 ¾ cup sugar
¼ cup brown sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup sour cream
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 cups flour
1 cup cocoa
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
¾ cup boiling water
Graham cracker crumbs (fine crumbs)
Marshmallow Cream Centers:
4 oz cream cheese
½ cup marshmallow cream
1 ½-2 cups powdered sugar
Graham Cracker Buttercream:
8 oz cream cheese
½ cup butter, softened
4 cups powdered sugar
¾ cup graham cracker crumbs (fine crumbs)
1 teaspoon vanilla
2-3 tablespoons whipping cream or milk
mini marshmallows and chocolate for decoration
For directions visit Your Cup of Cake.

*Tomorrow: Sour Cream Chocolate Cupcakes*

7 Responses to “Day 46 – S’mores Cupcakes”

  1. Stephanie October 7, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    I made these yesterday and they are amazing! I’m not even the biggest s’mores fan. I love all the individual components of a s’more, but generally prefer them separate (I love eating roasted marshmallows straight from the skewer, no additions needed). These cupcakes were the opposite: The individual components were great, but together, they were superb!

    When I write my post about them (I still have to post about last week’s cupcakes first…I know, I’m slacking), I’ll be sure to give your blog a shoutout! Thanks for the recipe and can’t wait to try more!

    • My Year of Cupcakes October 7, 2013 at 9:02 am #

      That would be great! Thanks, Stephanie!! I totally agree about S’mores. While I do LOVE the combo, I don’t always love it in cupcake form. So I get really excited when there’s a S’mores cupcake that’s really good!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Winner #7 | my year of cupcakes - September 21, 2013

    […] Cupcakes from Your Cup of Cake.  Check out that yummy day here.  And, check out how this cupcake does in the Monthly Competition on September […]

  2. Monthly Competition #2 | my year of cupcakes - September 30, 2013

    […] Week 7 – S’mores Cupcakes […]

  3. Better-Than-A-Campfire S’mores Cupcakes…Need I say (s’)more? ;) | Daisy Bites - October 12, 2013

    […] got this recipe from this blog called My Year of Cupcakes. I love this blog.  She is baking one cupcake recipe from Pinterest every day for a year.  Most […]

  4. Announcing the semifinalists… | my year of cupcakes - August 11, 2014

    […] September Monthly Champ – S’mores Cupcake […]

  5. 1st Semifinal Competition | my year of cupcakes - January 31, 2015

    […] September Monthly Champ – S’mores Cupcake […]

Leave a Reply

