Day 4 – Toffee Crunch Cupcakes

4 Aug

Toffee.  Caramel.  Chocolate.  Oh my!  Toffee Crunch Cupcakes with Caramel Frosting (recipe below by Bakers Royale).  This cupcake looks good!

Toffee Crunch Cupcakes          Mini Toffee Crunch Cupcakes

The cupcake has a great density.  The recipe was a little confusing – calls for instant coffee granules and toffee bits, but never says when to add them.  I added the granules to the wet ingredients and I just added the toffee bits into the batter once it was all mixed.  They came out a beautiful chocolate color, similar to a typical Devil’s Food cupcake.  They have a spongy appearance and a wonderful aroma!  (Btw, the mini version is equally as dense and yummy.)  They have a rich coffee flavor, almost like Kahlua, which is awesome cause there’s no alcohol in them.

Caramel Frosting          1st frosting

The frosting was a little thin at first – I added a bit of powdered sugar and then popped it in the fridge to get it thick enough to pipe.  However, it is delicate and light with an amazing caramel flavor.

Toffee layer          Mini toffee layer

The ganache was super easy to make and very creamy.  It’s dark, but not overpowering.

Toffee Crunch Cupcake          Mini Toffee Crunch Cupcake(So, it’s fair to say that I need to work a little on my piping skills…I’m sure they’ll improve over the next year of baking!)

These cupcakes…WOW!!  The flavor of coffee mixed with the caramel frosting, toffee bits and ganache.  So well-balanced.  Melts like butter in my mouth.  Though, I have to say, I can’t imagine eating a whole full-size cupcake – I could barely finish a mini.

Seriously, this may be one of the most well-balanced cupcakes I have EVER eaten.  All the parts taste like they were meant to go together.  Having said that, this was the most difficult cupcake I’ve ever made.  The process was lengthy and definitely not at a ‘basic’ baking level.  This would definitely be a special occasion cupcake.  (Example: making the caramel from scratch – which is delicious but took 2 attempts to get it right – makes the process significantly longer and more difficult.  Not a ‘whip em together’ kinda cupcake.

Scoring Sheet:

– Cupcake Taste: 5

– Frosting Taste: 5

– Overall Taste: 5

– Appearance: 5

– Ease of Making: 1 (most difficult cupcake I’ve made, but also the tastiest)

– TOTAL: 21

RECIPE

Toffee Crunch Cupcakes (from Bakers Royale)

Cupcake

  • 1 cup (4.5 ounces) all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons (7.3 ounces) sugar
  • 1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons (1.5 ounces) Unsweetened Natural Cocoa Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted and warm
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoon instant coffee (recommended: Starbucks Via)
  • 1/2 cup hot coffee
  • 1/2 cup chocolate covered toffee bits

Caramel Frosting

  • 5 large egg whites
  • 11/2 cup sugar
  • 4 sticks unsalted butter, diced and softened
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1/3 cup caramel sauce (click here for a homemade caramel recipe)

Chocolate Dipping Sauce

  • 2/3 cups dark chocolate
  • 2 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 4 tablespoons powdered sugar, sifted
  • 5-8 tablespoons water, warm

For directions visit Bakers Royale
*Tomorrow: Strawberry Cupcakes with Vanilla Ice-Cream Buttercream*

5 Responses to “Day 4 – Toffee Crunch Cupcakes”

  1. Christy August 4, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    This is one of the recipes that I’ve been salivating over on Pinterest forever! I’m so glad you chose it and liked it! I’m a bit intimidated by how difficult and tedious it sounds, considering I usually bake in bulk for Opening Nights…but maybe one day I’ll try it for a smaller “special occasion” like you suggested. I am so jealous you have those in your house right now, I want one! =)

  2. Lauren Reppucci August 8, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

    Me toooooo. Toffee anything? Gimme! I am so in love with this project of yours Leslie. Can’t wait to try this recipe.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monthly Competition #1 | my year of cupcakes - August 31, 2013

    […] Week 1 – Toffee Crunch Cupcakes […]

  2. Announcing the semifinalists… | my year of cupcakes - August 11, 2014

    […] August Monthly Champ – Toffee Crunch Cupcake […]

  3. 1st Semifinal Competition | my year of cupcakes - January 31, 2015

    […] August Monthly Champ – Toffee Crunch Cupcake […]

Leave a Reply

