Ready to Roll

27 Jul

It’s time to get myself (and my apartment) prepared to begin My Year of Cupcakes.  Obviously, I need to start with the essentials.

My mixer!

Image

Never bake without it!  (Unless a recipe calls for hand mixing…which is possible.)

Next, all the accessories.

Image

Baking is all about the science.  The measuring is VERY important – cups and spoons are a must-have!  You also need 1 or 2 good spatulas.  I am also fortunate enough to have an ice cream scoop and a mini scoop (aka cookie scoop) — they make getting the cupcakes into the pan crazy easy!

And, last but certainly not least, let’s not forget the muffin pans and cups!

Image

Other than that, I’ve been stocking up on ingredients.  I have 50 pounds of flour, 25 pounds of granulated sugar, 16 pounds of unsalted butter, 7 pounds of brown sugar, 7 1/2 dozen eggs and 1.5 pounds of Dutch-processed cocoa powder (I’m oh so thankful for that Costco membership!!).  Not that these are the only ones I’ll need for My Year of Cupcakes, but it should get me started!

Alright, check back in 4 days for Day #1 of My Year of Cupcakes!!

2 Responses to “Ready to Roll”

  1. Suzi July 30, 2013 at 4:21 am #

    I sure wish we lived in the same city…

  2. Nancy Marty July 30, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

    Good luck, Leslie!!! So anxious to share this adventure with you (without having to do all the work!!!).

Leave a Reply

